top of page

Blog

2/15-17/2019 - Valley of the Sun Stage Race - Phoenix, AZ

2/23/2019 - NorCal League Race #1 - Marina, CA

3/16-17/2019 - U.S. Cup Bonelli XC/STXC - Los Angeles, CA

3/23-24/2019 - U.S. Cup Vail Lake XC/STXC - Temecula, CA

3/30/2019 - NorCal League Race #3 - Monterey, CA

4/14/2019 - Sea Otter Classic XC - Monterey, CA

Further racing to be posted at a later date.

Upcoming Races

  • Writer's pictureNathan Davis

Surf City CX "Turkey Cross" - Bonny Doon, CA - November 19th, 2017



I decided to race A's! From here on out, I will be racing cyclocross as an "A Men" racer. Even though I may get totally shelled sometimes, it's just better training, more fun and more competition to simulate my primary race season. I signed up and pulled up to the line on my mountain bike - I know, I know. I'm a goon.

Right from the start of the race some dudes from Mash San Francisco started hammering at the front. There were 8 or so of us in a Little pack with the rest of the field trailing not far behind. After a couple laps, Scott Chapin (Santa Cruz Factory Racing) got a mechanical and pulled off to the side. We passed him and about two minutes later he comes up hauling and passes us. Our little pack hops onto his wheel and all is well and REALLY fast. Once we hit a small run up a quarter way through lap five or so, our pack gets split up and I find myself struggling to hang on.

For the remaining thirty minutes of the race I am riding solo, trying not to let the riders behind bridge up. I successfully held the others off, and after passing one or two and after one other pulling out, I ended up 6th.

Racing up a category with the Pro Men is definitely a challenge and I am looking forward to the upcoming races where I plan on developing on that result.


Photography: Jeff Vander Stucken

17 views0 comments

Powered By:

PRIMAL+SC+Primary+Logo-3.png
bottom of page