top of page

Blog

2/15-17/2019 - Valley of the Sun Stage Race - Phoenix, AZ

2/23/2019 - NorCal League Race #1 - Marina, CA

3/16-17/2019 - U.S. Cup Bonelli XC/STXC - Los Angeles, CA

3/23-24/2019 - U.S. Cup Vail Lake XC/STXC - Temecula, CA

3/30/2019 - NorCal League Race #3 - Monterey, CA

4/14/2019 - Sea Otter Classic XC - Monterey, CA

Further racing to be posted at a later date.

Upcoming Races

  • Writer's pictureNathan Davis

CCCX XC Series 2018: Race #2 - Fort Ord, CA - February 11th, 2018


After a long off season of winter base miles, the 2018 cross country season started with a bang! After missing the first round of the Central Coast series due to racing in Livermore last weekend, I was looking forward to opening my cross country season out at Fort Ord for the second race of the series.

The nice thing about having a local race series is that you can roll out of bed less than a few hours before your race start, eat breakfast, head out and warm up all with time to spare before the gun goes off. After signing up, the team and I headed out for a nice warm up together. My team, the Monterey Bay Lightfighters (@montereybaylightfighters) would be racing together to put in some training for the upcoming NorCal League series starting later this month. After some warming up and opening the legs, we headed to the start line.

A few minutes out, I downed an Untapped Maple packet so that by the start of the race my body would be flowing with (natural!) energy. The pack was pretty large and it took a bit of scrambling to get up to the front, but once I was up there it was all systems go. From the whistle, the start was fast. I pulled behind a few others and after thirty seconds or so, my group was passed by five or ten guys on the left hand side. Going into the whole shot, I found myself sitting somewhere around 15th, but knowing that we had five and a half laps ahead of us I was feeling good. The first lap was full of position changes and dispersion and by the second lap the lead group was made up of about ten guys. Through the first couple laps I slowly made my way towards the front and by lap three I found myself second wheel. Matthew Saldaña led the majority of a blazer of a second and third lap. Mid-way through the third lap, I pulled in front. I kept the pace consistent but made sure to keep it at an effort that would not be detrimental to my legs for later in the race.

Late third lap, I decided to make my move. After a steep pitch heading towards the road, I attacked the pack from the front, just prior to the short and flowy downhill that our team has deemed, "Vanderbajiggles Flow". Thanks to our many practice runs down it during team rides, I was able to keep my speed through the section leading to the final kicker of the lap before the main downhill. I headed down the single track and once I reached the venue I saw the "two laps to go" card. At that point I told myself, "Nathan. Go hard. Your only 40 minutes out!". It was time to gas. After downing an ounce of Untapped, the next two laps consisted of trying to stay consistent in my effort and hold it out until the line.

Forty minutes later, I rounded the final turn and headed for the line. I am stoked to have taken the win in my first race in the Pro Men's category and am even more honored to say that I have the most supportive, coolest and downright best team out there. It's going to be an absolutely stellar year, guys. I just know it.













Photography: Gabriel Stewart, Kip Evans and Keith DeFiebre


20 views0 comments

Powered By:

PRIMAL+SC+Primary+Logo-3.png
bottom of page