top of page

Blog

2/15-17/2019 - Valley of the Sun Stage Race - Phoenix, AZ

2/23/2019 - NorCal League Race #1 - Marina, CA

3/16-17/2019 - U.S. Cup Bonelli XC/STXC - Los Angeles, CA

3/23-24/2019 - U.S. Cup Vail Lake XC/STXC - Temecula, CA

3/30/2019 - NorCal League Race #3 - Monterey, CA

4/14/2019 - Sea Otter Classic XC - Monterey, CA

Further racing to be posted at a later date.

Upcoming Races

  • Writer's pictureNathan Davis

CCCX Series #5: Manzanita Park - Castroville, CA - September 24th, 2017


I did this race for training. The race was the fifth in the central coast cyclocross series. I don't own a cyclocross bike, but it was still a blast!

From the gun myself and Nathan Thalhammer (Top Club), the 2016 Junior 13-14 State Champion went off the front from the wholeshot. We traded positions the remainder of the race, switching every lap or so. A cyclocross bike against a mountain bike made things different for sure!

We kept our gap on the field and kept our pace high. Going around for the last lap I was second wheel behind Nate, and when we came into the last 100 yards things got a bit comical. The finish line was about 15 feet after a set of barriers that were too close to bunnyhop. As I unclipped to run the barriers, my left foot slid out from under me and I did a mini-splits! On the other hand, being the skilled cyclocross racer he is, Nate ran through the barriers with ease. I crossed the line about a second behind Nate Thalhammer - and although I would have loved to take the win, it was still a great day out!

Photography: Jeff Vander Stucken

12 views0 comments

Powered By:

PRIMAL+SC+Primary+Logo-3.png
bottom of page