top of page

Blog

2/15-17/2019 - Valley of the Sun Stage Race - Phoenix, AZ

2/23/2019 - NorCal League Race #1 - Marina, CA

3/16-17/2019 - U.S. Cup Bonelli XC/STXC - Los Angeles, CA

3/23-24/2019 - U.S. Cup Vail Lake XC/STXC - Temecula, CA

3/30/2019 - NorCal League Race #3 - Monterey, CA

4/14/2019 - Sea Otter Classic XC - Monterey, CA

Further racing to be posted at a later date.

Upcoming Races

  • Writer's pictureNathan Davis

California Criterium State Championships - Pleasanton, CA - September 3rd, 2017


This weekend was hot. In usually cool Monterey, it was reaching and exceeding one hundred degrees. In Pleasanton, during our race, it was reaching nearly ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTEEN DEGREES! For us Monterey guys who usually ride on cool and breezy 17 Mile Drive, this was definitely a drastic change.

From the gun, the race was fast. The first few laps held quite a few attacks and the pace was very high. Nobody stayed away, though there were a few small breaks that were reeled in quickly. Towards the middle of the race the pace started to slow down but with about 3 or so laps to the pace got picked back up.

By the time the last lap card was put up, we were at 33mph. Each lap is about 3 and a half minutes and our last lap we averaged 28.5mph. I positioned myself well with a minute or so to go and was ready for the sprint. My average heart rate for the last lap was 206 beats per minute which is absolutely off the charts. We came around the last corner and go to sprint. I am positioned on the left side of the road and sprint as hard as I can to the line. Once I cross the line I sit up and see my Garmin reading 216 beats per minute. The highest I had ever hit previously was 209 beats per minute in a sprint finish in the Livermore crit in heat of 90 degrees. Since it was so incredibly hot out side and my effort was sustained the last lap with a HARD finish sprint, my heart rate exceeded my previous max by a huge amount. I go and lay down in the shade and after a few minutes I go and check the results. Fifth in junior 15-16 crit state championships! I am happy with the result and am happy with my sprint. Time to use this result and develop on it!



​Photography: Maggie Akins, Greg Beliera, Stefan Hubrich

6 views0 comments

Powered By:

PRIMAL+SC+Primary+Logo-3.png
bottom of page